Yitzhak Apeloig Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Former Technion President Professor Yitzhak Apeloig is among 229 leaders in the sciences, the humanities and the arts, business, public affairs, and the nonprofit sector who have been elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The newly announced Fellows and Foreign Honorary Members join one of the world's most prestigious honorary societies. This year's class will be inducted during an October 9, 2010 ceremony to be held in Cambridge, Mass.

Since its founding in 1780 by John Adams, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots, the Academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the twentieth. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

Yitzhak Apeloig
Prof. Yitzhak Apeloig

“We are pleased to welcome these distinguished individuals into the Academy,” said Leslie Berlowitz, Chief Executive Officer and William T. Golden Chair. “We look forward to drawing on their knowledge and expertise to provide practical policy solutions to the pressing issues of the day.”

“The men and women we elect today are true pathbreakers who have made unique contributions to their fields, and to the world,” said Academy Chair Louis W. Cabot. “The Academy honors them and their work, and they, in turn, honor us.”


All active news articles